Sunday, March 15, 2009

Book Contest

YA author Jeannine Garsee has a book contest going on to promote her upcoming release Say the Word. I absolutely loved Garsee first novel Before, After, and Somebody in Between ,which is now available in paperback. Last month when I heard the author had a new book coming out I gave a happy squeal. Now the Garsee is giving readers a chance to win a signed copy of her new book, Say The Word http://onegrapeshy.livejournal.com/298587.html

Here's some info on Say The Word from Powells ( makes me want it even
more)


Dredging up the past can knock the present right off balance.
The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, that’s what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father’s every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, it’s more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawna’s embarrassment over her mother’s other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there’s a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.
Shawna’s honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson.

After her estranged lesbian mother dies, 17-year-old Shawna Gallagher's anger from being abandoned 10 years before resurfaces. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there's a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.




4 comments:

susan said...

Okay, I am always looking for more YA that addresses family and sexual orientation. Throw in anger and loss- well, I'm in. Going over to the contest. Thanks.

Doret said...

Susan, you should really check out the authors first book, I think you'd like it.

Beth Kephart said...

Doret,

A note to say thank you (!!) for the words you just left on my blog (and for your endearing goodness and never forgotten words about HOUSE). You may well be the first official reader of that short story. I was deeply touched to learn that it moved you. Thank you.
b

Jeannine said...

Thank you for posting this!! Jeannine